What is your favourite Hong Kong slang?

Cantonese is known for its colourful colloquialisms. What are your favourite Hong Kong slang expressions? What do they mean? When would you use them? What are the equivalent expressions in English?

Chok

In this video, CarlosDouh explains Chok

Here are two phrases that I know:

Haam Sup

I was asked in class recently to give an English equivalent of the Cantonese slang exression ‘Haam Sup’. Literally, the phrase means Salty Wet, and it is an adjectival phrase used to describe people, usually guys, who always think about sex.

In English, we often use the term ‘Dirty Old Man’ for such a purpose, but this phrase is more restrictive; you need to be a ‘man’ and ‘old’ for this to apply to you, whereas anyone has the potential to be ‘Haam Sup’.

One closer English equivalent would be ‘One Track Mind’. which refers to thinking almost solely about one thing, with that one thing usually being sex.

A: What were you doing last night?
B: Nothing. I just went to bed.
A: Who did you go to bed with?
B: (Sighing) Why do you have such a one track mind?

Another equivalent would be ‘dirty mind.’

He has got such a dirty mind!

‘Perverted’ doesn’t quite work because it implies that something is abnormal.Lascivious is a suitable word, except it is not particularly well know and seems rather formal.

She is well known for her lascivious predilections.

‘Horny’ also comes close, butt his word mans has more to do with being sexually aroused rather than just thinking about sex. Which do you you think is the English expression that is closest in

FF

FF was explained to me as meaning having impossible hopes, In other words if one is FF, that person can be considered ‘deluded’ or ‘delusional.’ It is derived from the name of the game Final Fantasy. It is not really related to the game—it just carries the meaning of having the ‘ultimate’ in delusions.

53 Comments

  1. Hong Kong slang is a special reform of Cantonese or English.It sometimes is the combination of these two languages,or sometimes the new version of the use of Chinese words. Hong Kong slang changes always.I think it has become one of the fashion in Hong Kong culture.There are many features of Hong Kong slang,such as humorous and simple.Since there are many benefits about Hong Kong slang and the slang fits the teenagers nowadays,the slang is often used by the youths.
    My favorite Hong Kong slang is 伏(fuk6),it used to mean the ambush in the wars in the past.However,it is better for describing somethings that are full of ‘traps’.The traps are some mistakes,cheats or somethings that dissatisfy us.I like this slang because it is very useful.It can express my feelings when I am cheated by someone.

  2. We can hear different Hong Kong slang everyday in everywhere cause it’s already a part of our culture. People always say that the fastest way to know about Hong Kong’s culture is to learn our slang. My favourite slang is song2 pei4 (爽皮) It means a kind of amazing and relaxing. It is often use when people feel happy toward a certain topic, they will use this word to describe their feeling. For example, people will use song2 pei4 to express their happiness if they get a free ticket from school suddenly for no reason. It can’t translate into English directly (fresh skin???), but that is the amazement from the Hong Kong slang. The slang is often quite hard to understand but it’s really important to our culture and life because we speak them everyday!

  3. I think that Hong Kong slang has become part of the Hong Kong culture and it is very important to us because Hong Kong slang is always appear in our daily life.If one day there is no more Hong Kong slang,our life will be boring.As an important point,Hong Kong slang cannot be found outside Hong Kong and it always bring humour to us.We can be relax and reduce our stress from daily life.My favourite slang is ‘blowing water’.It means that you are chatting with your friends.It is not related to water,isn’t it interesting?Although the foreigners may not understand the meaning of it,you can translate the meaning of phrase by English.As a local,we should share our culture with other people and let more people know our culture.
    Hope that you can enjoy our great culture~What is your favourite Hong Kong slang?

    1. Personally, i think of the “blowing” as when we breath out when speaking and the “water” to be saliva! lol

  4. I think Hong Kong slang is an important part of our wonderful culture, and it is unique that we can’t find outside Hong Kong, such as mainland and Taiwan. My favourite one is ‘gong ne D'(講呢D) and it is popular in Hong Kong. ‘Gong ne D’ can make me laugh and it bring humour to me. Although ‘gong ne D’ was created as subtitles on a TV programme, it was not the original subtitle on TV. In addition, ‘wuk gay'(屈機), ‘sup pok'(十卜) are also fantastic in our culture. If you have a lot of abilities when you play against others in the games, you can be called ‘wuk gay’, and you may win the games easily. ‘Sup pok’ has a positive meaning, it is created based on an English word ‘support’. The meaning is same as the English word and the pronunciation is very near that. Some things can be found in overseas, but we have unique words of them. For example, ‘M Kee'(M記) means ‘McDonalds’, but only Hong Kong people know the meaning of this word. Hong Kong slang can make us humorous, relaxing and we can memorise these slang easily. Let’s enjoy our great culture now!

  5. I think slang is a funny culture of Hong Hong because there are lots of different slang used in different situation. My favourite Hong Kong slang is ‘FF’. It is quite popular, especially in our class. The definition of this term is to dream of something which is too unrestrained and impossible to happen in real situation. It is a verb and it is mainly used to describe the act of dreaming. It is diversification because it is often put in different sentences. For example, ‘don’t FF too much’ is used for reminding people to stop dreaming too much. ‘FF’ is a humorous term and we usually use it when we are telling jokes with friends. It makes conversations become funny and relaxing.

  6. i think it is so unusual and interesting.Hong Kong slang is one of the local culture of the city.such as GG,繼續吹,大鑊(daai6 wok6).My favourite Hong Kong slang is FF.Somebody say ‘don’t ff too much’too.This word mean dreaming about some impossible things.my friend always say i am a FF怪(a noun of FF)too.

  7. I think that Hong Kong slang is really funny that when it is translated into english the meaning will be very funny and it’s meaning may be strange.We can’t know the meaning of it by only reading their words.my favourite slang is 屈機.It means others get all but you get nothing in games.

  8. There are many interesting and useful slang in Hong Kong.I think ‘ONISE’ is a special one. It means ‘ old news is so exciting ‘.When somebody post some old news on Facebook, you can comment this slang. Old news is so exciting!

  9. I think that Hong Kong slag is really amazing that it fully represent the culture and feelings of Hong Kong people.I think it is very tricky too because we cannot know the meaning of them only by reading their words.My favourite slag is’MK’.It describes teenagers who love wearing special clothes and always smoke . It is a funny word since many people would think that it means that people live in Mong Kok but it is not.
    Is this interesting ? what is your favourite slags then?

  10. Cantonese is one of the most important cultures of Hong Kong and the local Hong Kong slang can show out this culture.
    There are lots of interesting slangs in Hong Kong like ‘hihi’,’ff’,’gg’. For my favorite one, that would be ‘十卜'(sap6 buk1) This word is quite popular. I think you can see it on some forum, whatsapp, facebook or even on our sport day. ‘十卜’ means ‘Do not give up!’ or “cheer up!’ in English.
    Do you notice that it pronounce like ‘support’? That’s really interesting?
    what is your favorite hong kong slang?

  11. There are many interesting slang in hong Kong . They reflect the special culture in HK . Eg. FF , MK , O咀. Teenagers will use them in usual comversation but many adult dont know the meaning of them .My favourite slang is GG , it means it is the end of the accident and we can’t any thing to help with it. It can fully reflects our hopeless and unhappiness .When teachers ask us to go to discipline , we will say “GG”Also another interesting slang is hea . It means we do something not seriously or waste the time . We will say “Where do you go to hea in holiday?”after holiday. How about others?

  12. In my opinion,slang is some non-standard words and pharses in a given language, such as Cantonese.Hong Kong slang is a part of Hong Kong’s culture.It may comes from other lamguages,such as FF,GG.Many teenagers in Hong Kong will use slang while they are talking with others.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang is “伏”.”伏” means snare and something is tricky.And we also use this words to describe something which is out of exception or play tricks on others.For example,this drink is “伏” means that the drinks taste not good.

  13. Nowadays, you can hear many Hong Kong slang everyday , no matter where you at . At home, at school , even at the public library ! Also , you can hear so many different types of Hong Kong slang , such as “啤”,”hea” etc. And my favourite slang is “GG”. When some terrible or unfortunate things is going to happen , then you will say it . I say it very often because I’m a forgetful girl so I think it is very useful ( for me ). How do you think of it ? 😄

  14. Nowadays,people in Hong Kong use different kinds of slang to express the thing that they want to say. Most of the people like using slang to communicate with one another.I usually hear people saying the word “hea”,“冇得頂( mou5 dak7 ding2 )”,etc. However,the slang that i like most,is the word “公主病( gung1 jyuh2 behng6 )”.It means “princess sickness” that describes a girl who needs everything and to act like a spoiled child.More use of these kinds of phrases is good for us to get closer with our friends.

  15. Many people uses slang to talk in Hong Kong nowdays,but I usually uses them in Whatsapp.In reality,I use less slang than in Whatsapp.I have used many of them,like hea,chok….etc.(ff is still new to me,sorry)噴飯,吹水and hea are the ones that I like to use.Hea means your’re being lazy and not busy with anything,吹水 means you are talking off-topic things or gossiping and 噴飯 means you are laughing so hard that you can spray out rice.
    I prefer using words in short-form like OMG(oh my god) or LOL(laughing out loud) or IDK(I don’t know).

  16. If you want to really get in touch or being closer with your Hong Kong friends,first thing you need to learn is the local slang in Hong Kong.Nowadays,Hongkonger loves using slangs to express their emotion and feelings directly because slangs can involve many complicated meanings in a few wordings.For example,”Hea”,is a kind of famous slang in Hong kong and also it is my favourite one. Hea is to describe someone who stroll around without any purpose and heedless of everything.However,if we would like to express the me meaning of hea,we need to use plenty of words.That’s why people in Hong Kong loves using them because they are all the words that can be understood in the fastest way.

  17. Nowadays,Hong Kong slangs are very common and people always say the slangs along the way. I think it has become a special culture of Hong Kong. For instance, you can hear ‘FF’ all the time in our school or in other places. It means thinking or dreaming something that is impossible to happen. At first, I really don’t know what ‘FF’ means. After I visit this website, I know more about the meanings of different slangs in Hong Kong. Eventually, I also know the meaning of ‘FF’. I think those slangs are very interesting and they can express our feelings or emotions accurately. In fact, my favourite slang is ‘葡萄’ (grape), which means you are very jealous of something you want. I felt very funny when I first heard it. I love this slang because I hear this a lot from my classmates and every time when they are jealous about something, they will say this word. Maybe it has become a very popular slang in Hong Kong.

  18. Actually Hong Kong slang become a part of cultural in Hong Kong. For example ‘FF’, you can hear this word in different place and different time. The people who come from others country, they wounldn’t know what is the meaning. I think it just like a secret signal.
    Chinese is interesting. It is the most difficult pronunciation in the world. In addition, the meaning of WORDS are interesting. We cannot transfer the chinese exactly to English. So that, if you want to become a “local Hong Kong citizen” you need to put more and more effort!

  19. I think Hong Kong slang is a the most special cultural and most represent Hong Kong local cultural too since it is common for Hong Kongers.Actually, I think some of the HK slangs are quit interesting and funny too such as,mk,omg,講呢D,FF,chok,厚多士,etc.My favourite Hong Kong slang is ‘講呢D’.It means when say this things.When somebody talk something is nonsense, you may reply’講呢D’.It is really nice.^.^

  20. Hong Kong slang is very special and funny to Hong Kong people so we always use these words such as,FF,mk,o嘴,pan fang and so on.My favourite Hong Kong slang is ‘FF’.It means someone imagine something.When the classmates is daydreaming, I will ask him/her ,”What are you FF?”. I think the Hong Kong slang is really nice and I often use it when I am chatting to someone.

  21. Nowadays, there are many funny slangs in Hong Kong with different meanings, such as FF, which means arrogant;chok, which means handsome and cool, especially for boys. But my favorite Hong Kong slang must be “hea”, which means “Happily Ever After” . It’s usually used to describe people always play and not serious in their works. Teachers and parents always tell their students and children not to “hea” and this slang become more and more popular in Hong Kong, mostly describing teenagers. And I think this slang is also suitable for me sometimes.

  22. Hong Kong slang is now very common to Hong Kong people.It is very interesting that we can use them to communicate with others like parents,classmates or friends.My favourite one is’O嘴’which is O Mouth in English.It is a metaphor that mean you are very surprise with something and your mouth is open very big.We can use this slang to describe somethings that is surprise like when a girl is kissing a boy or someone say fuel language before a teacher.Use different kind of slang to express the feeling,this is HK style.

  23. Hong Kong slangs often show the local culture of the city. Also, nowadays the teenagers in Hong Kong use different slangs that are affected by foreign culture (like ‘FF’, which is one of my favourite), like from different video games. As we are now much easier to receive information around the world, this will surely enrich our word choices when we use Hong Kong slangs, but not just the few that have already been using for decades. Therefore, the popular culture of Hong Kong slangs will become more and more copious.

  24. Most of the slangs in Hong Kong are really interesting and they often make me laugh. People are keep using slangs now and they are getting really common in Hong Kong. Slangs are easy to remember since they are usually made up of two to three words.
    My favourite slang in cantonese is 豬扒 that is pork chop in english. It means ugly girls or women. It is used as a negetive word. I find it interesting and fun since it can make the conversation more interesting. I always use this slang since it is the nickname of my friend. I sometimes call her “pork chop” for fun. Slangs can make our conversation less boring and the grown-ups sometimes won’t understand what we are talking about, therefore it is really great to use them.

  25. Hong Kong slang become very popular in Hong Kong now,I think it is because those slangs are mostly made by two to four letters,so you can speak out easily.I always use ‘ff’ to describe my friends because some of them always think of a lot of things that could not happen in the life.Also,some slangs are made by Chinese,that are the ‘Chinglish’.Therefore,you may find that you can speak those slangs fluently.Some ‘Chinglish’ such as chok I will say frequently.I also think that many of the slang are very interesting and easy to remember so everyone will use slang to talk with each other.I love to say slangs to my friends very much because I think those slangs can easy to understand.

  26. I think Hong Kong slang become more and more popular in the past few years. Many people create a new slang by the things which is a hot issue. For example, few years ago there is an advertisement about shampoo. In the advertisement, Jacky
    Chan use “Dong L” to describe his hair after he use the shampoo. “Dong L”means the things that is very flexible.But nowadays people don’t use this word very often because it is quite outdated.It is good to create slang because a slang is easy to understand if you often use it but it doesn’t apply to the older generation. It is because they’ve their slang too. Slang is also a reflection of a decade.

  27. Nowadays, people in Hong Kong always speak slang. Different slang has different meanings, and i found that those are usually very interesting and amazing, that’s why Hong Kong people often use slang to express our feelings. However, these slang usually only can be pronounced in Cantonese. My favourite Hong Kong slang is “ff” which means someone dreaming or imagining something which would not happen probably. It can be a positive word or negative word. People usually use “ff’ to tease or laugh at their friends when they speak something nonsense or impossible! I often use this slang when chatting with friends because it can adds humor, and I found that it is the most interesting Hong Kong slang I’ve ever heard. Also, there is also an advantage– when we use this kind of slang, people can understanding what we are talking about and we don’t need to explain a lot, especially when chatting with our friends.

  28. In these few years, Hong Kong slangs are more and more prevalent than before. It is a special way to make the chatting be more relaxing and amusing. That’s why most of the teenagers love to use slangs in their conversations with friends.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang is睥(be1). The literal meaning of it is looking at, yet the common meaning of it is staring at somebody with unfriendly attitude. The reason why I love this slang most is this action happening in my life frequently. Every times when I’m looking at someone without any smiles, he or she will think that I’m angry with them even if I’m not. Using slangs in the conversations will make the sentences become less formal and less solemn. Therefore, it is totally great for us using slangs to chat with our friends.

  29. I realized that Hong Kong slangs are really popular in recent years. It becomes part of Hong Kong gradually. Most of the teenagers or grown-up would use them in their conversation when they talk to the others in order to make the conversation becomes more amusing and easier to understand. As my point of view, I think Hong Kong slang is liked a fashion. The one who likes saying Hong Kong slang would think that they are closed to fashion. Conversely, they would even think that the one who don’t speak Hong Kong slang has a generation gap among them. Anyway, no one could stop the trend of saying Hong Kong slang until now. The slang that I love most is “FF” which means having a marvelous fantasy but it never come true. For example, Peter always dreams that he can be the richest guy in the world. However, I said to him ,“Don’t FF!” Actually, I don’t quite understand how this word come from. Nevertheless, I still like using this slang.

  30. Hong Kong slang is a really common, extraordinary and interesting language for Hong Kong people. Hong Kong slang may appear in many chattings in Hong Kong. My mother don’t know what am I talking about when i use new style Hong Kong slang. There is always new slang created by Hong Kong people. However in some words, we cannot find out why the words express those meaning, like CHUR, it describes there is a full schedule and you should keep on working to make sure you can follow it. Hong Kong slang ia a part of Hong Kong culture. People from other countries cannot just know the meaning of the slang through translating the literal meaning of the words. I think that is the most special thing of Hong Kong slang.
    There are two slang that i think are really unusual.
    First, it is PAN FAHN (噴飯). Literally, it just mean spay rice, yet it describes there are something funnny or ridiculous and let you spay out your rice during eating in Hong Kong slang meaning. Although this is a little exaggerating word, it is really suitable for the situation.
    The other one is DOK LARM (毒男). The literal meaning of DOK LARM is poison boy, but for the slang, it is the description of a guy who locks themselves away doing nerdy things such as video games, watching or reading manga, playing with machinery,ect.
    I like using Hong Kong slang because it can explain complex meaning by just few words.

  31. Nowadays, Hong Kong people like to use Hong Kong slang to chat with others. I think Hong Kong slang has became very common and popular.I like to use Hong Kong slang because it can make the sentences become more interesting and funny. Besides, I can use some simple Hong Kong slang to explain the difficult thing.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang is O 咀(O-Jeui). That means you really surprised for something and your mouth become a “O” shape. For example, Harry Potter died and then came back to life, I would say O咀. I like to use this slang because it is really interesting and simple..

  32. Nowadays, Hong Kong people really love using Hong Kong slang to chat with others. We are getting used of it. I think almost all the conversations contain at least one Hong Kong slang in it. Although these slangs are not formal phrases or sentences, it is still fun to use it.
    I think the most special Hong Kong slang is 吹 (ceoi1), which is ‘blow’ in direct translation or 繼續吹 (gai3 zuk6 ceoi1) which is ‘continue to blow’ in direct translation. The real meaning is whenever you say something that is usually good things to others but that is not a fact. Or when we are praising ourselves (well proberly FFing), the others will say 吹 to you. It’s an interesting slang in Hong Kong since it is used usually when chatting with friends. I sometimes use this slang when chatting with my brother too!

  33. Nowadays, using Hong Kong slang is common when people talk with each other. I think that Hong Kong slang is popular and it is one of the Hong Kong culture.
    I think the most special Hong Kong slang is 蘿白頭(lo baat tau), because when we translate it into English, it means white carrot head, but the actual meaning is Japanese. It is used when we talk about Japanese because Chinese people hate Japanese very much. It was used when Japan invaded China in 1937.
    At first i didn’t know that 蘿白頭 is meaning Japanese, but now I think is is really funny and special.

  34. Nowaday,Hong Kong slang is very common in Hong Kong because Hong Kong people like using Hong Kong slang for communication.I also always use Hong Kong slang because I think Hong Kong slang can make the sentence more interesting .Moreover , I think Hong Kong slang replace some simple words and that can make the expression more lively.
    I think the most interesting Hong Kong slang is 吹呀.If you don’t know what is that words mean , you may think it means ‘blow’ .However , it doesn’t mean “blow”.The realing meaning is mean that when you argue with people , you Insist to do something and then people can’t stop you.You think people can’t stop you insist to do something so that you may say 吹呀 to refute the person that you argue with .The meaning between “blow”and the realing are very different . I really don’t know why people can make that.However,It is very interesting so i like use Hong Kong slang very much.

  35. Nowadays,Hong Kong people always use a lot of Hong Kong slang to talk with others.I think Hong Kong slang can make the sentences become more funny and interesting.
    I think the most interesting Hong Kong slang is 大鑊(daai6 wok6);literally big pan or as one might call it ‘wok’ since the surface meaning of this word and the real meaning of this word has large large difference.This term is use to refer to a serious matter or something disastrous but more often than not it simply means ‘big trouble’.
    I never think that ‘wok’ can use to mean ‘trouble’ so I think it is a really interesting and special Hong Kong slang.

  36. Nowadays, Hong Kong slang is very usual in our daily life, especially between the talk of the teenagers. I think Hong Kong slang is one of the unique culture of Hong Kong.
    I think the most special Hong Kong slang is肉酸(juk syun1) because the meaning of the word is meat sour but the real meaning of the word is todescribe someone’s behavior is showed ugly or will let others feel uncomfortable, it also means something or someone showed disgusting and make other feel ugh. this word does not mean to pick on others, just a evaluation to something. Therefore , I think this word is funny and interesting.

  37. I would use the word ‘vivid’ to describe Cantonese words, especially the spoken ones. There are many new slangs created day by day which has greatly enrich the spoken Cantonese, there are so many different words just to describe the same thing, now you could probably imagine how amazing Cantonese is. Let me give you an example, if you would like to describe someone who Would most likely to lose in a competition, you could use words like ‘輸硬’, which means ‘lose hard’ in direct English translation, it sounds really awkward isn’t it? ‘實GG’ is another word which have the similar meaning, which means something bad is going to happen. However, since slangs are really localized, it would be quite challenging for foreigners to understand the meaning of the words directly.
    Among all these slangs, my favourite one is 嘈喧巴閉 (cou4 hyun1 baa1 bai3), it means very noisy in Cantonese. Well, it’s commonly used by teachers when they scolds students for being noisy in class. Why I like this word is because it sounds funny yet it could accurately describes the situation.
    Slangs are created daily, so it could quickly become an old-fashioned one. But it is still really fun to discover new ones.

  38. before reading this passage , i really dont know what is hong kong slang , i never heard about that before
    ,but after reading this message . i started to know something about this and found that sometimes we would
    use it usually , this is quite interesting!

  39. I’d like to talk about my thought towards Hong Kong slang first.

    I think Hong Kong slang becomes one of the special traits in Hong Kong. It really takes time if people do not know Hong Kong’s own culture. I quite like them indeed, it kinda shows you are following the trend and increase the sense of humor:)

    Back to the topic, my favourite Hong Kong slang is “FF”.It’s known as delusion (or “final fantasy”, which is not that positive—a wishing thinking that hard to achieve. The reason I like this slang because it can always be applied on different jokes. However, it’s kinda sad that people use it because they know or consciously agree that they will never achieve the thoughts they have wished for. It’s a little negative being involved.

    Anyways, I think slang is mainly for fun– “FF” is the word that always make people feeling happy in some ways, so it’s my favourite Hong Kong slang. Hopefully this word won’t be “washed out” that easily:)

  40. Nowadays, most of Hong Kong people’s conversations contain lots of Cantonese slang. Although these slang are very informal language and we also don’t know how they were created, they can help us to express our feelings and what we actually want to say. These slang are also a special and unique culture of Hong Kong.

    In Hong Kong, there are many Cantonese slang. Let me tell you my favourite one now. My favourite slang is ‘鬼佬’ (gwei lo) which refers to white people who live in western countries. The reason why we call them ‘鬼佬’ is because of their eyes, hair and skin colour as well as their language are different than us which make us feel they are extraordinary. The English translation of ‘鬼佬’ is ‘ghost man’. Isn’t it scary?

    Do you know anything about Hong Kong slang? Which one is your favourite?

  41. I think nowadays,Hong Kong slang is more and more popular.Different kind of Hong Kong slang have different funny meaning.My favorite slang is 講呢D(Gong Ni Di),which means say these things.I always use this when I feel embarrassed.For example,My dad says my drawing as silly as a kindergarten children,I would say 講呢D.
    In other hand,I also like this slang which is very funny,爛gag(Laahn gag).If we translate 爛gag into English,it will be a broken joke.What is a broken joke?The real meaning of 爛gag is not a broken joke,is a joke that is really ‘corny’.I think maybe the joke is not funny,the meaning is more funny.

  42. Nowadays,the Hong Kong slang has become part of the Hong Kong culture.Most of them are spoken Cantonese,they are hard to be written.They are quite unique, so that foreigners might sometimes do not understand what we are talking about.
    My favorite Hong Kong slang is “大頭蝦 “.This means an absent-minded person.It is use to describe a forgetful person.It is commonly use in Hong Kong as HongKongers live in a fast pace, it is common to forget things. In English, it is translate into “Big Headed Shrimp”.

  43. More and more HK slang are created and they enrich the spoken Cantonese. These slang make the dialogue between people more interesting and express the situation more accurately. I am always curious about the origins of the slang as they are quite nonsense or not related to their meaning.
    My favourite one is ‘hea’, which mean spending time on doing something not important or being not focus on what you should do. For example, I was supposed to be studying for the first exam during the Christmas holiday, but I was always doing other stuff like checking whatsapp, leisure reading, eating snacks or even take a nap. Then, at night, I would say something like “Oh no, I am still studying chapter 1. I should not hea a whole day.”
    On the other hand, my favourite Cantonese expression is ‘add oil’, which is to cheer people up, encourage them to do something challenging or showing support. This expression is frequently used and it makes me feel better when I heard someone say ‘add oil’ to me. We can say that before competitions, exam, etc.

  44. There are so many slangs in Cantonese and most of them don’t have a clear origin. Although it is not a formal language, the used of slangs is so common in Hong Kong that most people created words that could be written for them. My favourite slang is 吹水(ceoi1 seoi2). It means chit-chatting with some about pointless and fun. It literally translates into blow water but that doesn’t make any sense.

  45. I think that Hong Kong culture is being introduced by the tourist to their country. HK slang, the same as that in many countries, has their unique collocations.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang is “GG”. “GG” is taken from the message of the people in a game. When a people ended a game, people will say “Good game.” to the participants. That’s why its contracted into “GG”. “GG” is used when something happens on oneself and he/she feels uncomfortable as something bad may lie ahead.

  46. In my opinion, Hong Kong slang can help us express our feelings and thoughts in a more direct way in a Cantonese conversation, but it is seldom used in writings as they are considered as inappropriate.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang is 無語 (mou4 jyu5), it is said when you see something that is too bizarre, unbelievable or shocking that makes you speechless. I can see things that make me speechless everyday, such as the actions of my classmates, that’s why I always use this slang. I think this slang is not inappropriate as it is just like ” I’m speechless.” in English. However, 語塞 (jyu5 sak1) is usually used in writings to make the writings more proper for reading.

  47. Before talking about my favorite Hong Kong slang , I felt so shocked that the man in the above video can speak Cantonese so well.
    The slang that I use most is FF . which means thinking or dreaming about some ridiculous things.However , it’s not my favorite slang.My favorite slang is “you see see you”.
    “You see see you” is used when you want to satirize someone who had did something extremely weird or strange.I usually say this slang with some facial expressions such as smiling evilly.However,I always get satirize by others using this slang .Here”s one of the example during exam.

    Me :Hey!What had you answered in question five?
    Friend 1 :I had answered” The water level will decrease”.
    Friend 2 :Me too!!:)
    Me :No!It should be “The water level will remain the same height.If my answer is wrong, I would cut my p???s and become a girl IMMEDIATELY.

    Eventually,my answer is wrong……

    Friend 1 :You see see you.
    Friend 2 :You see see you.

  48. Although Hong Kong slang is not a formal language, it is interesting that it shows the unique culture of Hong Kong (you will find that it is difficult for foreigners to learn). We don’t know where they are come from, but they can fully express our feelings.
    My favorite Hong Kong slang is “伏”(fuk6). It means a “trap” and we always use it as an adjective. We will use it when we think something is tricky and out of expectation. The word “伏” also means playing tricks on others. I always use it when I see the tricky questions in the exams or get something in surprise.

  49. If you are a foreigner and you want to learn Cantonese, it will surely not be easy. There are totally nine tones and you cannot exactly translate them to English. My favourite Hong Kong slang, “冇得頂(mou5 dak7 ding2)”, is an example. You cannot translate it directly to “cannot go up”. This phrase is actually used to describe something very amazing or really great. I like this slang because I can use it to describe everything that I think is good and there is no limitations of what I want to describe. For example, I can use this phrase to describe food or a place. This is a very popular Hong Kong slang too so you can always hear people saying it. Some people even use gestures(e.g. thumbs up) when they say it. Therefore if you want to learn Cantonese, you must learn this phrase too.

  50. I think Cantonese is an interesting dialect as there are many words to express the same meaning. As there are so many combination and changes, Cantonese is also a difficult language to learn. My favourite slang is 屈機(wat1 gei1), which is originally a computer game’s term. It means a player achieves his/her purpose by using the bugs in the game. Nowadays, the term is commonly used and it means somebody is stronger and defeats the others (p.s. It is a positive term). I like this slang because I appreciate the creativity of Hongkongers, They create new words from their daily lives and spread throughout Hong Kong. Also I think this slang is suitable to express Hongkongers since many Hong Kong people are well-known in the world, such as our famous movie star Jackie Chan.

  51. I think hong kong slang has become part of hong kong’s culture. It is very interesting and it often comes from different languages or cultures of other countries. It adds a bit of humor when speaking Cantonese and is highly used by hong kong teenagers nowadays.
    My favourite Hong Kong slang would be “ff”‘, which means dreaming or thinking about something which is probably never going to happen. ”ff” is not exactly a negative word nor foul language therefore I think it is acceptable to say it in public. I often use ”ff”’ to tease my friends when they are thinking of stuff that is totally nonsense and unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

